The Cul-De-Sac

image

Today I’m posting some pictures of the cul-de-sac at NSH that use to be used as married doctor and nurses quarters.  Today I believe they are used as headquarters for State agencies and the National  Guard.  (But  don’t hammer me if I’m wrong.)

image

These dwellings were built during the 1950s (Doc Jones reign).  As you can see they were comfortable and stylish for the time.   In this pic you also see the corner of a dinette table that came standard issue for those who did not transfer there with their personal belongings.  There is also nice cabinetry that most of us would kill for today.

image

Upstairs is pretty standard bedrooms.  Some of the quarters were two and three bedroom if I remember right. The floors you see were nice authentic  hardwood.   Real quality went into these places.   It’s a shame these too will soon be torn down. But here is another glimpse into the lives of those who lived and worked at Northern  State.

Leave a comment